Looking For Some Help

Need writing advice? Want to share works in progress? Look here!

Moderators: mgmirkin, Moderators

gwenythlove
Mi-Go Brain-Bait
Mi-Go Brain-Bait

Looking For Some Help

Post by gwenythlove »

Hello everyone, I am new to the group and need a little help. I have been asked to write for an anthology that requires Mythos fiction. They are not interested in anything written in a mock-Lovecraftian style. I am very new to this genre and am looking for maybe links or advice that can help me on my path. Thanks so much. All help is greatly appreciated.
Gwenyth Love
Dark Idol Finalist
Black Light Horror Productions
www.blacklighthorror.ca

RAGE Machine Magazine
Editor
http://ragemachinemag.tripod.com

Pretty-Scary
Columnist/Book Reviewer/Interviewer
www.pretty-scary.net
Lagwolf
Haunter of the Dark
Haunter of the Dark

Post by Lagwolf »

Read some of my stuff posted on here. I have been told I do mythos fiction that is not a pastiche of Lovecraft.
gwenythlove
Mi-Go Brain-Bait
Mi-Go Brain-Bait

Post by gwenythlove »

Thank you, I will make sure I do just that.
Gwenyth Love
Dark Idol Finalist
Black Light Horror Productions
www.blacklighthorror.ca

RAGE Machine Magazine
Editor
http://ragemachinemag.tripod.com

Pretty-Scary
Columnist/Book Reviewer/Interviewer
www.pretty-scary.net
Jesus Prime

Post by Jesus Prime »

There's also a nice guide to avoiding blatant Lovecraft regurgitation in the Mythos FAQ on the main page. Though why would anyone want to avoid sounding like the man himself?
Aleister
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Aleister »

I think the key thing is to give the mythos-feel, without coming off like you are mimicking HPL, or just name-dropping elder-god style.
Jesus Prime

Post by Jesus Prime »

Aleister wrote:I think the key thing is to give the mythos-feel, without coming off like you are mimicking HPL, or just name-dropping elder-god style.